Gap Species

by North Sea Radio Orchestra

supported by
Ed Linfoot
Ed Linfoot thumbnail
Ed Linfoot Probably my favourite record title ever!
A diverse collection of complex and tuneful music.
More than a tinge of sadness to these songs - Tim Smith is definitely present. Favorite track: Lyonesse.
shane thumbnail
shane Despite being a collection of 'odds and ends' it's an amazingly cohesive record. One that is full of joyous electronics and delicate stringed musical journeys. Nowhere is this more evident than in the ebb and flow of the 10 minute centrepiece 'Lyonesse'. For fans of A Winged Victory For The Sullen, Aaron Martin, Neal Heppleston or The Focus Group.
If I had to make a complaint... It so deserves to be on vinyl! Favorite track: Lyonesse.
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs)
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs) thumbnail
Sven B. Schreiber (sbs) The name "North Sea Radio Orchestra" sounds a bit like an old-fashioned symphony orchestra playing Beeethoven's 5th... but nope, get rid of this association, and just listen! It's awesome, innovative neo-classical chamber music for various instruments, sometimes including vocals as well, entirely composed by Craig Fortnam, who already proved his songwriting skills in 1999 with his band "Shrubbies". This ensemble is loosely connected to the highly renowned bands "Cardiacs" and "Stars In Battledress", and in fact, James Larcombe of the latter plays organ on three of the tracks. I desperately hope to see re-releases of their albums issued since 2006 here in the future! Favorite track: Move Eastward Happy Earth.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £8 GBP  or more


The Flower 02:58
Squeezebox 01:24
L.U.C.A. 03:16
Lyonesse 10:00
Gap Species 04:56


Following the demise of previous band, Shrubbies, in 1998, Craig Fortnam invested in an 8 -Track reel-to-reel and an Atari computer, and began writing and recording music for what would later become North Sea Radio Orchestra. Most of these tracks are works from that time; others hail from the inception of NSRO and were performed live but never made it to an album pressing.


released January 2, 2019

Craig Fortnam: Guitars/keyboards/MIDI madness
Sharron Fortnam: Vocals
Nick Hayes: Clarinet (track 7 and 12)
Daniel Hewson: Trombone (track 2 and 4)
Harry Escott: Cello (track 5 and 10)
Hugh Wilkinson: Vibes (track 9)
Luke Crookes: Bassoon (track 12)
Geri Peach: Oboe (track 12)
James Larcombe: Organ (track 5, 9 and 12)
Jen Underhill: Violin (track 5)
Terry Pitt: Trumpet (track 2 and 4)

Choir on track 4: CF, SF, Tim Smith and Jo Spratley

All tracks recorded in Balham, London, by Craig Fortnam.
All vocals recorded at Apollo 8, Wiltshire, by Tim Smith.
Mixed at Apollo 8 by Tim Smith/CF except:
Track 5: recorded at Securisound, London, by James Larcombe.
Tracks 9 and 12: recorded at St Olave Hart St, London, by James Larcombe.Track 10: recorded by CF in a secret posh room.

Music by Craig Fortnam
Words by Alfred Tennyson.

Artwork by Michael Chapman.

All tracks © The Household Mark THM005


all rights reserved



North Sea Radio Orchestra Salisbury, UK

NSRO was formed in 2001 by Craig and Sharron Fortnam. They sought out old churches, secreted away in the heart of the City Of London, and invited their audiences to come and hear their sounds. They then moved out into the world at large; releasing four albums, one fifth album for download (available here) ... more

contact / help

Contact North Sea Radio Orchestra

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like North Sea Radio Orchestra, you may also like: